The Roles Module provides a simple, yet flexible Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) system for your applications. It works hand-in-hand with the Permissions Module to restrict access to any part of your application.
|Roles||The Roles Module provides a simple, yet flexible Role-Based Access Control (RBAC) system for your applications. |
|Roles Overview||Roles allow you to segregate which groups of users can access which parts of your site, or what actions they can perform once they are there. |
|Creating New Roles||New Roles can be created by navigating to Settings / Roles and clicking the ‘Create new role’ button. |
Roles allow you to segregate which groups of users can access which parts of your site, or what actions they can perform once they are there. By default, Bonfire ships with several pre-made roles. You can keep these in place, or modify to suit your needs.
- Administrator accounts have full control over every aspect of the site.
- Developer accounts typically are the only ones that can access the developer tools. Otherwise identical to Administrators, at least until the site is handed off.
- Editor accounts can handle day-to-day management, but do not have full power of an Administrator.
- User accounts are the default account types that have the ability to login to the site.
- Banned accounts are not allowed to login to the site at all.
Creating New Roles
New Roles can be created by navigating to Settings / Roles and clicking the ‘Create new role’ button. Each role has the following settings...
- Role Name is the name of the role. This name is used for both display throughout the site and for certain Auth functions.
- Description is an optional piece of text that describes the role’s abilities.
- Login Destination is the path that a user is rerouted to upon successful login. This allows you to have Administrators automatically log into the Bonfire Admin UI, while Users reach their own backend that’s custom to your application.
- Default Role If checked, this is the role that any new subscribers to your site are given. By default, this is the User role.
- Removable determines whether the role can be deleted. When managing roles, any user that belongs to a Role with Bonfire.Roles.Delete permission, will see the option at the bottom of the Edit Profile screen to delete it.
- The Permissions section provides several matrixes based on the Permissions in the system that allow you to define exactly what that Role is allowed to do. If a permission is checked, they can access those portions of the site, otherwise they are not allowed.